What is Your “SELF” Worth?

What is your self worth? Can you put a price on it? Is it worth buying?

So many years of my life, I was willing to bargain my worth just to have and potentially keep more people around. I tried to be more relatable, less spiritual and honestly my relationship with God was hindered in an attempt to gain the favor of people and prevent from becoming “too heavenly bound that I was no earthly good”. Then one day, when I could no longer wear the mask not fit for the woman God called me to be, when my hunger and thirst for righteousness could no longer be drowned out by deliberate attempts to feed the flesh just enough to outweigh the spirit, when my true self managed to alienate me from my cultural christian friendships, I had to find my worth in something more lasting than self and her immediate surroundings.

“So God created man in his own image, in the image of God he created him; male and female he created them.” – Genesis 1:27

“For those whom he foreknew he also predestined to be conformed to the image of his Son, in order that he might be the firstborn among many brothers.” – Romans 8:29

“…seeing that you have put off the old self with its practices and have put on the new self, which is being renewed in knowledge after the image of its creator.” – Colossians 3: 9-10

God created us to be image bearers. If the Father in all his glory and splendor is the King of glory, why would we be less than princes, and princesses (1 Peter 2:9)? Likewise, the image bearer must accurately reflect the essential characteristics of the original image.

” The Lord is gracious and merciful, slow to anger and abounding in steadfast love.” – Psalms 145: 8

“Love is patient and kind; love does not envy or boast; it is not arrogant or rude. It does not insist on its own way, it is not irritable or resentful; it does not rejoice at wrongdoing, but rejoices with the truth.” – 1 Corinthians 13:4-6

God created us for his glory. All of Heaven and Earth were created to give vision to his splendor and when we settle for less than what he called us to be, when we fail to be diligent in seeking his perfect will for our lives, we fail to reflect for others how great our God is.

For whoever is ashamed of me and my words, of him will the Son of Man be ashamed when comes in his glory and the glory of the Father and of the holy angels.” – Luke 9:26

“I will praise thee, O Lord, with my whole heart; I will shew forth all thy marvellous works.” – Psalms 9:1 

Everyday I think about who I am, my identity (God given and self attributed), and what that means to God. Is who you call your self in alignment with who he has called you to be? Don’t settle for being good enough when God can afford you the opportunity to be “perfect and entire, wanting nothing” (James 1:4).

Catch y’all on the flipside,

❤ Nique

Leave a comment